Guestbook

    

Links & More

LINKS:

NOTE: There's a lot of great info on these sites. However, please keep in mind that in some cases, the history is less than accurate.

If you know of any other links that should be added to our list, please let us know.

MUSEUMS:

Autry National Center Museum of the American West:

http://www.museumoftheamericanwest.org

Gene Autry Oklahoma Museum: http://www.geneautryokmuseum.com

Country Music Hall of Fame: http://www.countrymusichalloffame.com

National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame: http://www.cowgirl.net

Rockabilly Hall of Fame (info on traditional Country music, and the

Bakersfield Sound; Carolina Cotton page):

http://www.rockabillyhall.com

FAN SITES:

Eddy Arnold: http://www.eddyarnold.com

Chet Atkins: http://www.misterguitar.com

Gene Autry Entertainment (Official Site): http://www.geneautry.com

Smiley Burnette (Official Site): http://www.smileyburnette.org/Smiley/index.html

Smiley Burnette Interprises: http://www.smileyburnette.org

Ken Curtis (fan site): http://www.eviltwin.velvetsofa.com/Curtis/main.html

Ken Curtis: http://www.testytoads.com/curt/

Gail Davis / Annie Oakley (entry at The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture: http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=2745

Randall Franks (Appalacian Ambassador of the fiddle):

http://www.randallfranks.com

M Johnson (No.1 Black Yodeler, artist and storyteller): http://www.freewebs.com/blackyodelno1/

Jock Mahoney: http://www.briansdriveintheater.com/jockmahoney.html

Yodeling Queen Janet McBride: http://www.heroeswest.com/yodelqueen

Patsy Montana (Official Site): http://www.patsymontana.net

Bob Nolan - Sons Of The Pioneers (by grandson Calin Coburn and archivist Elizabeth Drake McDonald): www.bobnolan-sop.net/index.htm

Sons Of The Pioneers (Carolina Cotton page, info about their 1949 tour): http://www.bobnolan-sop.net/Recollections/Carolina%20Cotton/Carolina.htm

Doye O' Dell (by Shane Hall, cousin): http://www.doyeodell.com

Hank Penny (Official Site): http://www.hankpenny.net

Riders of the Purple Sage (Official Site): http://www.ridersofthepurplesage.com

Riders in the Sky: http://www.ridersinthesky.com

Roy Rogers and Dale Evans (Official Site): http://www.royrogers.com

Cliffie Stone (Official Site): http://www.cliffiestone.com

Eddie Sulik (Rockabilly / Western Swing legend with a fascinating but tragic history): http://www.eddiesulik.com

Taylor Ware: http://www.taylorware.com

Bob Wills (Official Site): http://www.bobwills.com

Bob Wills and his Texas Playboys:

http://www.texasplayboys.net


WESTERN SWING MUSIC:

All Music Guide: http://www.allmusic.com

The Bakersfield Sound (includes info w/ Spade Cooley and Bob Wills): http://www.bakersfield.com/static/FP/baksound/beginning.htm

Big Bands Database Plus, Western Swing Bands: http://nfo.net/usa/weswing.html

British Archive of Country Music: http://bacm.users.btopenworld.com/

Dorothea Lange photo collection at Online Archive of California Digital Library (Dude Martin photos, info 1942-44):

http://texts.cdlib.org/xtf/view?docId=ft3f59n5wt&query=dude%20martin&hit.rank=1#2

The Big Jamboree (info on Western Swing and steel guitar): http://perso.wanadoo.fr/rockin.paul/contents.htm

Brad's Page of Steel (Guitar): http://www.well.com/user/wellvis/steel.html

Dorothy Bryant Epps (author, sister of Jimmy Bryant): http://www.lorenebryantepps.com/

Jimmy Bryant (by Jimmy's son John): http://groups.msn.com/JimmyBryant

Country Classics / Bradley Brothers (Eddie Dean): http://www.countryclassics.com

Country Legends: http://www.mikespages.com/Country%20Legends.html

Country Music Classics: http://www.countrymusicclassics.com

Ernest Tubb (history, and Record Shop): http://www.ernesttubb.com

Hillbilly-Music: http://www.hillbilly-music.com

Bud Hobbs (official site, by niece Brenda Wattenbarger): http://home.earthlink.net/~brea1107/id6.html

Info on Spade Cooley, Hank Williams Sr. and detailed description of Riverside Rancho: http://www.johngilmore.com/Celebrities/hank_williams_sr.html

Lillies Ohlsson (Western Swing history):  http://leeswing88.se

MSN Music (classic country, Hank Penny): http://music.msn.com/artist/default.aspx?artist=127046

Open Directory Project (links directory to Country / Western artists): http://dmoz.org/Arts/Music/Styles/Country/Bands_and_Artists/

Papers of Redd Harper (Billy Graham Center, history): http://www.wheaton.edu/bgc/archives/GUIDES/235.htm

Andy Parker / Plainsmen Trio (history): http://www.seattlewesternswingmusicsociety.com/reminiscing.htm

Hank Penny / Sheb Wooley (history): http://www.talentondisplay.com/kicprofiles02.html

Seattle Western Swing Music Society: http://www.seattlewesternswingmusicsociety.com

Seattle Western Swing Music Society page w/ Carolina Cotton: http://www.seattlewesternswingmusicsociety.com/carolinacotton.htm

Sons of the Pioneers (history): http://www.classicwebs.com/pioneers.htm

Sons of the Pioneers (Happy Trails site): http://happytrails18.tripod.com

Swingin' West: http://www.swinginwest.com

Traditional Country Hall of Fame:

http://www.traditionalcountryhalloffame.com

Western Music Association (WMA): http://www.westernmusic.org

WMA Hall of Fame page w/ Carolina Cotton: http://www.westernmusic.org/HallOfFamefiles/CarolinaCotton.html

Western Swing.Com: http://www.westernswing.com

Western Swing Society: http://www.westernswingsociety.org

Tex Williams: http://www.illinoistimes.com/gbase/Gyrosite/Content?oid=oid%3A2557g/

VH1 (search engine, info on many Western Swing artists): http://www.vh1.com/artists

Xtreme Musician (info on Western Swing musicians, including Carolina Cotton): http://www.xtrememusician.com

WESTERN FILMS:

Cowboy Pal: http://www.cowboypal.com

Internet Movie Database (IMDB), page w/ Carolina Cotton (use Search):

http://www.imdb.com

Wild West Publishing / Donn Moyer (books on B Western films and performers, including a full section on Carolina Cotton): http://users.telisphere.com/djmoyer55/cowboy.htm

The Old Corral (includes info on Western Singing Groups): http://www.surfnetinc.com/chuck/trio.htm

PRC Studios (history): http://www.oldb-movies.com/PRC/prc.html

Roy Rogers/Dale Evans fan site: http://happytrails18.tripod.com/happytrails

Sunset Carson: http://pages.sbcglobal.net/cepowell/sunsetcarson

Western Clippings (Boyd Magers site, with extensive Western film info and some of Carolina's movies on VHS available):

http://www.westernclippings.com

Western Film Fair site: http://westernfilmfair.tripod.com

Wild Westerns: http://www.wildestwesterns.com

RADIO:

KFDI Classic Country (history page, with info on Western Swing artists): http://www.kfdi.com/get/theranch/page5.asp

KNX (Los Angeles station, were Hollywood Barn Dance and other Western Swing shows were broadcast): http://www.knx1070.com/info/history/photos/default.html

KPO Radio history (one of the Bay Area radio stations where Dude Martin and his Roundup Gang performed):

http://americahurrah.com/SanFrancisco/Memories/sfmemNBC.htm

Old Radio.com (radio stations in San Francisco and Los Angeles...includes a photo of Dude Martin's band and poss. Carolina at "Studio C", in San Francisco): http://www.oldradio.com/archives/stations/laradio.htm


MISC. RELATED LINKS:

Armed Forces Radio and Television Service (AFRTS): http://www.afrts.osd.mil

AFRS Korea:

http://www.afnkorea.net/Yongsan/Article.asp?PT=Feature+Story&id=29745

Coy-Boy.Com (all kinds of Western topics): http://www.cow-boy.com

Cowgirls Dream (info on female Western entertainers): http://www.cowgirls.com

Holy Trinity School of El Cajon (All Western Days history): http://holytrinityschool.mswin.net/history_of_holy_trinity_school_o.htm

Info on Helldorado: http://www.1st100.com/part1/cashman.html

Lincoln Highway Association (info on Dude Martin, and music halls in Oakland): http://www.lincolnhighwayassoc.org/ca/traveler/2001-03/highway_nostalgia.html

Oracle of Bacon at the University of Virginia (connects Carolina Cotton to Kevin Bacon or any other celebrity combination, using the theory of the popular "Kevin Bacon" game): http://oracleofbacon.org/oracle/

Presto Records History (one of the types of records used for acetate soundtrack recordings, transcriptions and demos): http://www.televar.com/grshome/Presto.htm

Radio Recorders (studio in Santa Monica, CA where some recordings were made): http://www.smecc.org/radio_recorders_-_santa_monica_ca_.htm

Radio Recorders info by Scotty Moore: http://www.scottymoore.net/studio_radiorecorders.html


USO: http://www.uso.org/pubs/8_13_18.cfm

Working Cowboy.Com (Western Swing and Cowboy related topics): http://www.workingcowboy.com/index.shtml


____________________________________________________________



Do you have a story about Carolina Cotton that you'd like to share?
If so, by all means drop us an email and chances are we'll add it to this page.



____________________________________________________________

 
Under Construction...please stay tuned